Skip to content ↓

BTEC Level 3 Information Technology

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology


Year 12

Year 13

This course is equivalent in size to one A level. It comprises of four units in total of which three are mandatory and two are externally examined. The first examination will be January of Year 12 with one chance to resit at the end of Year 12. Students are required to have passed this unit to progress to Year 13.

What does this qualification cover?

The objective of this qualification is to give learners the opportunity to develop their knowledge and skills in data management and social media in Business. This will enable learners to progress to further study in the IT sector, or other sectors. Learners will study two mandatory units:  Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information (synoptic) Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business. This will allow progression to a variety of degrees when combined with other suitable Level 3 qualifications.


Units of study

 - Information Technology systems

 - Creating Systems to Manage information

 - Using Social Media in Business

 - Website Development

Links Well With:

BTEC IT links particularly well with Business studies and Physics

Progression Routes:

Web designer, Computer analyst, Graphic designer, Business Manager, IT Apprenticeship, Cyber Security

Entry Requirements:

GCSE average point score of Grade 5 or above or merit or above in Level 2 iMedia.